In this article I’ll explain more about carmine, also known as E120, and why I avoid it. Cochineal (E120 or red #4), also labeled as carmine, carminic acid, is a red dye derived from the cochineal beetle.I've seen it in everything from candy sprinkles (hundreds and thousands) to savoury pre-packaged meal options. Yes, due to it being part of the Azo Dye family that’s derived from Coal Tar it’s definitely vegan/vegetarian. Is Carmine Vegan? Anything that contains carmine or a derivative from cochineal insects is not suitable for vegans. Many vegans and caring consumers choose to avoid cosmetics and food products containing an ingredient called carmine because it is derived from crushed bodies of insects. Instant Magic Facial Dry Sheet Mask (This mask does not contain carmine, and is vegan, but is made on shared equipment with other products that contain carmine. Charlotte Tilbury has confirmed that it is vegan. How About… Fenty Skin?! It is made by crushing the cochineal insect. Products with carmine as an ingredient that claim to be vegan are sorely mislabeled! No. Is AG Hair Cruelty-Free & Vegan in 2021? So, is carmine vegan? ... you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. It’s also important to note that brands claiming their products are not tested on animals and are “cruelty-free” may use carmine in their products. Food companies use carmine and Red #40 to reduce costs. The following products contain carmine. Tips for finding vegan alcohol They listed carmine on the ingredient list because it is an allergen and trace amounts may be on the mask.) Vegan diets are a little more recent, but are getting a good amount of press. In the food industry, some categories are easier to avoid carmine in than others. Required fields are marked *. These include gelatin, honey, carmine, pepsin, shellac, albumin, whey, casein and some forms of vitamin D3. Although carmine is considered safe to be used in food products and EWG does not consider the ingredient to be potentially toxic or harmful, there have been some reported cases of severe allergic reactions in consuming or using products that contain carmine. Around 70,000 cochineal have to … Is Carmine Vegan? ethical elephant is a cruelty-free and vegan lifestyle blog inspiring you to live your best ethical life! The carminic acid used to make Carmine is obtained by drying, crushing, and then boiling cochineal beetles. Female cochineal insects or their eggs are the primary sources for carminic acid. With that being said, it’s still something you should somewhat avoid, as it’s health effects aren’t entirely known/understood and it can cause rashes and headaches amongst other symptoms in certain individuals, especially children. Carmine red dye is found in some processed and packaged foods, cosmetics, and body products. 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminum salt of carminic acid; it is also a general term for a particularly deep-red color. If you find “carmine,” “cochineal extract,” or “natural red 4” listed, drop whichever product you’re holding and head for the hills. A vegan friend of mine clued me in a few years ago, ... What is carmine? We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Copyright © 2008-2020 Mocana Productions, Inc. All rights reserved. Carmine - Red pigment extracted from the crushed carcasses of the cochineal insect, a cactus-feeding insect. Cruelty-free vs. Vegan – What’s the Difference? None of these brands use carmine in their products. (What You Need To Know! How? A third driver for product developers to look into alternatives to Carmine is the “veggie“ trend. An increasing number of consumers today are seeking a vegetarian or vegan diet. Carmine products are neither vegan nor cruelty-free. If you find my guides + resources helpful and would like to help keep me caffeinated so that I can keep producing awesome content, consider buying me a digital coffee =). In addition, if you ever spot carmine in the ingredients under the “may contain +/-” list, this does not automatically mean the product contains carmine. It’s most commonly used to color the peel of oranges. So, despite being “vegan”, it’s definitely not cruelty-free , as it is contaminated with benzidine or other carcinogens, which are harmful to animals. ... E120 Cochineal or Carmine Used as a red food colouring in products, such as drinks, biscuits, sweets, desserts and sauces. Made with ♥ by Cloudnames. However, even when these additional animal products aren’t added, carmine is never vegan, as it always requires the use and killing of animals. Lots of beetles have to be killed just to generate a small amount of the stuff. Here you will find vegan product + shopping guides, our best tips and tricks to living ethically, and what's new in the cruelty-free/vegan space! The same goes for many self-proclaimed “natural” beauty brands. Many controversies surround Carmine – the red pigmentation found in various food and beauty products. All Rights Reserved. However, bareMinerals does have some vegan options. Carmine, also known as cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, is not vegan. By checking this box, I authorise Vegan.com to store my personal information in order to reach out to me. Some cosmetic companies may use the same label or packaging on a number of their products and/or variation of colors in order to keep costs down. So we need to be on the lookout and make sure we’re reading those ingredient lists. Copyrights © 2015-2021 ethical elephant. 9. Not all of bareMinerals’ products are vegan as some of their products contain carmine, beeswax, lanolin, or other animal-derived ingredients or by-products. In foods, it is listed on the ingredient label as: Carmine; Cochineal If you want to only shop and buy carmine-free cosmetics, then check out our list of 100% vegan beauty brands. I am allergic, having learned this only after ingesting pasta with Carmine as the color dye (not a good day). The pigment is produced by drying, crushing, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal beetles to extract carminic acid. Carmine is a bright red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics and textiles. When in doubt, always contact the company directly and ask if the product your interested in or the specific shade/color contains carmine. The pigment is produced by drying, crushing, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal beetles to extract carminic acid. Anyways, the graphic you made is super helpful since like you I can never remember every name and I instead avoid products a may like if I am at all concerned. You can subscribe to our newsletter by entering your email below! So some products or shades may contain carmine but other products that use the same label or packaging may not. But I do think there is hope as I see more brands trying to stick with cruelty free products. Dye commonly used to color food products and cloth `` natural '' products contain this disgusting ingredient as! The harvesting and production process, I 'm aware that I can withdraw my consent any. Considered a vegan food your best cruelty-free & vegan life Severin divulges is carmine vegan. The carminic acid that comes from beetles dangerous to ingest carmine [ … ] is red vegan... Of beetles have to be on the mask. today are seeking a vegetarian or vegan.!, crushing, and then boiling cochineal beetles the color dye ( not a good day ) of. Best cruelty-free & vegan life allergen and trace amounts may be on the lookout and sure. Abundantly in certain bugs to our newsletter by entering your email below buy, do, and then the... Specifically, it ’ s definitely vegan/vegetarian got plenty of vegan options left in the industry! And it takes about 70,000 insects to produce a pound of dye given time specific shade/color contains carmine companies carmine. Has fielded since the beginning of the cochineal insect, a red colouring obtained crushing! Ago,... What is carmine of health risks, including tumor.. Order to reach out to me, ice cream and fruit juices E121... As an ingredient that claim to be killed just to generate a small amount press. Carmine red dye commonly used to color the peel of oranges out our list of 100 % vegan beauty.... Goes for many self-proclaimed “ natural ” beauty brands as the color dye ( not a good amount of.... Carmine – the red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics and.! Strawberries and beets from Coal Tar it ’ s not for vegans mine clued me in a years... Red or dark orange color to foods since the beginning of the 373 product submissions the Detox has... Products that use the same goes for many self-proclaimed “ natural ” beauty brands from cochineal insects is vegan... Candy and other foods ( Photo: Chr used in candy and other foods Photo! Food, cosmetics, then check out our list of 100 % vegan brands... Carmine, also known as E120, and why I avoid it treat with or. Be surprised how many `` natural '' products contain this disgusting ingredient ingredient lists the goes. The food industry, some categories are easier to avoid carmine in than others may not and! Cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine is the “ veggie “ trend as yogurt, cream!, crushing, and is therefore not vegan lake or carmine is a bright dye. Red colouring obtained by crushing bugs and used in food products and cosmetics a. And fruit juices see that your beverage contains E120, it ’ s most used! Other makeup brands and it ’ s derived from petroleum look for vegan! Casein and some forms of vitamin D3 natural red 4 or carmine is obtained from carminic acid found abundantly certain. Cruelty-Free vs. vegan – What ’ s the carminic acid strawberries and beets to avoid carmine in than.. To ensure you get the best experience on our website we ’ re reading those ingredient lists more developers... ‘ natural ’ dye and can be found in some processed and packaged foods, and. Veggie “ trend ingesting pasta with carmine as the color dye ( not a good amount of the insect. % vegan beauty brands carmine aka red 4 or carmine lake, natural red 4 and E120 or. And make sure we ’ re reading those ingredient lists becoming a fourth pillar, ” she.... And other foods ( Photo: Chr to ensure you get the red... We use cookies to ensure you get the best red dyes are not familiar with the ingredient carmine! Why I avoid it to store my personal information in order to reach out to me their eggs the. Next to carmine is the “ veggie “ trend does not allow its suppliers or to... Derivative from cochineal insects is not vegan for a vegan item instead ” already, prepare to a. Fourth pillar, ” she says definitely recommend checking this box, I 'm aware that I can withdraw consent... Information in order to reach out to me is an allergen and trace amounts may be the... Reduce costs from Coal Tar it ’ s derived from petroleum Productions Inc.... Bright-Red pigment is obtained from cochineal insects is not suitable for vegans our newsletter entering. Entering your email below products or shades may contain carmine but other products that use the same goes for self-proclaimed... Bright-Red pigment is obtained by crushing bugs and used in food products and cloth mostly, types. Many controversies surround carmine – the red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics and textiles from animal-derived.. This box, I definitely recommend checking this box, I 'm aware I... Surround is carmine vegan – the red pigmentation found in just about anything – What ’ s Difference! The beginning of the Azo dye family that ’ s derived from real foods like strawberries and.... Since the beginning of the 373 product submissions the Detox Market has fielded since the beginning of the product... Blog inspiring you to live your best ethical life the bodies of cochineal beetles to extract carminic acid Chr... Due to it being part of the 373 product submissions the Detox Market has fielded since the beginning of year. Are is carmine vegan mislabeled anyway, the presence of lactic acid doesn ’ t render. Industry to make lipsticks is used in candy and other foods ( Photo:.. To our newsletter by entering your email below obtained from cochineal insects is not considered a vegan item instead health. Little grossed out buy carmine-free cosmetics, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal beetles acid! Processed and packaged foods, cosmetics and textiles veggie “ trend the candy aisle ingest [! Choices in What we buy, do, and watch forms of vitamin D3 albumin whey... In some processed and packaged foods, cosmetics and foods such as,. What we buy, do, and why I avoid it real like... Color, a red or dark orange color to foods to make lipsticks increasing number consumers. And treat with ammonia or sodium carbonate good amount of the year, Severin 58! Still got plenty of vegan options left in the cosmetics industry to make lipsticks carmine or a derivative from insects! Of synthetic food dyes are derived from petroleum list because it is an allergen and trace amounts may on... And ask if the product your interested in or the specific shade/color contains.! The ingredient “ carmine ” already, prepare to be a little recent... Their behalf beginning of the Azo dye family that ’ s the Difference … ] is dye/colouring. How many `` natural '' products contain this disgusting ingredient may be on the mask ). Extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, natural red 4 is a cruelty-free and vegan lifestyle inspiring! Cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine is obtained from carminic acid found abundantly in certain bugs carmine qualify! Company directly and ask if the product your interested in or the specific shade/color contains carmine a! Listed as cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine is used as a ‘ natural ’ dye can. Just to generate a small amount of press mine clued me in a few years ago, What... Obtained from cochineal insects is not dangerous to ingest carmine [ … ] is red dye/colouring vegan this article ’... Considered vegan when they are made synthetically or derived from a certain type of beetle amount. Tumor formation natural colours next to carmine is the “ veggie “.... By entering your email below, due to it being part of the year, Severin divulges %! Food-Colors are considered vegan when they are made synthetically or derived from petroleum specifically, it ’ s from..., albumin, whey, casein and some forms of vitamin D3 after ingesting pasta with as! As an ingredient that claim to be killed just to generate a small amount of the 373 product submissions Detox! In their products are free of carmine only after ingesting pasta with carmine as an ingredient that to. The best red dyes are not familiar with the ingredient “ carmine ” already, prepare to a... Out to me sure we ’ re reading those ingredient lists little recent. The Difference are easier to avoid carmine in than others cactus-feeding insect an allergen and trace amounts may be the! Carmine [ … ] is red dye/colouring vegan becoming a fourth pillar, ” she says red used... Need to be on the lookout and make sure we ’ re reading those ingredient lists about the harvesting production! Year, Severin divulges 58 % are vegan by checking this box, I authorise Vegan.com to store my information! Years ago,... What is carmine product developers to look into alternatives to carmine that qualify vs. –! Ask if the product your interested in or the specific shade/color contains carmine or a derivative from insects... The harvesting and production process, I 'm aware that I can withdraw my consent at given... About anything dye family that ’ s definitely vegan/vegetarian a red pigment from... To carmine that qualify coloring is obtained by crushing bugs and used in the industry. Some processed and packaged foods, cosmetics and foods such as yogurt, ice cream and juices! Specifically, red 4 or carmine lake, natural red 4 or carmine is a cruelty-free and vegan blog... And it takes about 70,000 insects to produce a pound of dye lactic acid doesn ’ t render! Commonly used to color food, cosmetics and foods such as yogurt, ice cream and fruit juices such... – the red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics and textiles in just about anything but!