I'm completely new to fishing so I didn't want to just bring an ultra light trout rod and have my rod snap if I accidentally hooked a larger fish or snagged a log. Kick a** rod!! Standing seven-feet, this lengthy rod features stainless steel guides and aluminum oxide inserts for a lightweight and durable tool that will be right at home in your tackle kit. I've had these rods for quite a few years now, I've used them for walleye trolling, using planet boards, fishing catfish, bullhead and pike.. these rods perform extremely well for the price point. $99.99. Walmart has quite a few options in the $20 range for spinning combos, I looked at a lighter lews combo and a heavier south bend combo in store and then walked out with this one, despite the lews calling my name with it's superior brand name. Please enable JavaScript in your browser and reload the page. the drags worked well. I have had this combo for over a year and have fished very often in both salt and fresh water and I am so happy with it I just bought another. My review on the $18 shakespeare tiger combo If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact, Electrode, Comp-7977228b-0330-467b-9834-9ae9f7b369f2, DC-scus-prod-a13, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-20.0.40, SHA-41ed8468826085770503056bd2c9bc8be5b55386, CID-f9a17977-007-176ba3b97ea445, Generated: Thu, 31 Dec 2020 19:17:16 GMT, Electrode, Comp-1354f677-724a-4cd7-b723-d25367fbe3bf, DC-scus-prod-a2, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-37.12.0, SHA-bf36425afec52d2ad992106fc45b33a731c01301, CID-21e8f3bc-007-176ba54774f531, Generated: Thu, 31 Dec 2020 19:44:26 GMT, Error: Please enter a valid ZIP code or city and state. Just as Tiger Woods is likely to come in 18 holes under par whether he uses as cheap $200 set of golf clubs or a $5,000 set of custom woods and irons, so do most fishermen do equally well with a fishing rod that meet the basic requirements. If you are looking for a low budget surf fishing c